Thank You, Ben and Shawna

22 02 2010

I want to take this space to give a very special thank you to my great friends Ben and Shawna.

At the apartment complex I currently live in, you are not allowed to have pets. Tempting fate, I decided to move in with my dog anyways. My dog, Frank, is not easily hidden away. He is an 80-pound beast of a Goldendoodle, not the most inconspicuous creature on the planet. For the first six months of my twelve month lease, I got away with it.

Sadly, my landlord finally wised up, and two weeks ago I had a very unpleasant conversation with him that ended in an ultimatum: the dog goes, or eviction happens. For a few very frantic hours, I was a mess. Frank is the first dog I’ve raised on my own, and I am very much attached to him. There was no way I was going to give him up, but there seemed to be no one able to take him. I spent a bit of time actually looking on the internet for pet-friendly apartments, assuming I was going to get evicted on Monday.

When I explained my predicament to Ben, he completely surprised me by offering to take care of Frank without me even asking. Ben, and his girlfriend Shawna, graciously invited Frank into their home until the end of the semester, when I can come and reclaim him. I literally cried, I was so happy.

I met them halfway between our homes that next day, and could not have been more comfortable letting Frank into their care. They are truly amazing people, and the best kind of friends a guy like me could ever ask for.

So, Ben and Shawna, if you are reading this: Thank You so much. I cannot describe how much your kindness means to me, and your friendship if something I hope to cherish for the rest of my life.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

